News DILG Adopts Local Legislative Award

DILG Adopts Local Legislative Award

Atty. Odilon L. Pasaraba, CESO V of the DILG Bureau of Local Government Supervision called a meeting on 17 May 2018 at the 27th Floor, DILG-NAPOLCOM Center in Quezon City to discuss the proposed BLGSLG Leagues Workshop and creation of Local Legislative Award.

As the highlight of the said gathering, Director Pasaraba endorsed the LLA Program, which was an established regular event of DILG and PCL since 2006, to the MalacaƱang. President Rodrigo Duterte was expected to sign an Executive Order establishing the Local Legislative Award. This aspires to give recognition to Sanggunian that has exemplary performance in building the foundation of meaningful local administration and development. Provinces, highly urbanized cities, component cities and municipalities may join. They may submit ordinances or resolutions which could highlight innovation or excellence thereby attain a desirable socio-economic and environmental outcome to the community.

The proposed EO will establish an Award Committee composed of the Secretary of DILG as the Chairperson with the heads of Leagues (League of Vice Governors of the Philippines, Provincial Board Members League of the Philippines, Vice Mayors League of the Philippines and Philippine Councilors League) as Vice-Chair. The members are various Secretaries of the National Government: Department of Agriculture, Department of Social Welfare and Development, Department of Budget and Management, Department of Environment and Natural Resources as well as the President of Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry, with a Representative from a Non-Government Organization involved in policy studies or capacity building related to local legislation.

Once the draft EO is signed and implemented, the submission of entry documents shall be October to be reviewed by the National Board of Judges until November this year. The selection of National Winners will be by January next year and the Awarding Ceremony is on March 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *